Out of my depth whilst standing in a puddle- Help needed

Bananas

Joined Oct 8, 2008
Hey guys,

Im a student and for an upcoming project I require some simple electronics to fit into a glowing presentation box. Sadly electronics is not my field (at all!) and Im having trouble piecing together a fairly simple operation.
My field is in 3D/interactive graphics the box Im making will be used to hold a DVD of some of my work. I already have the box designed, I just need to make the circuit to go inside it to make it glow..... but I dont know how?:confused:

Here the deal:

• The circuit is for an 8 LED set up that will fit inside an acrylic translucent box.
  • There should be a switch with three options On/Off/Motion. On and off are self explanatory, motion willl be for when the box is moved, with a short delay to it turning off once movement stops.
  • The box will be in two halves connected only by magnets, I require lights in both halves, these can be on the same circuit. i.e the lights go out when the box is split. If possible using the magnets as a part of the circuit... or if not I'll have to use a normal connection.
The next section is all guess work: If someone could be kind enough to help me fill in the blanks.

I will need 8 very bright LEDs(4 in each half), these can be either Blue or tri colour(red/blue), size=any? whats the difference except the obvious? How do I then calculate resistors and battery size?

For the motion sensor; I guess a tilt switch is needed??? Im not sure how these work or even if its the correct component(Yes Im out of my depth?).

I then need to piecie it all together with a switch.

Basically could some kind soulcould help and mentor me in building this circuit? What infomation do I need to provide for a better understanding(No not my credit card number:p)

thanks in advance

Bananas

beenthere

Joined Apr 20, 2004