Oscilloscope Question for DC Ground Noise

EVBuilder1

Joined Jul 18, 2014
I appreciate your help!

I am working on an Electric Vehicle that seems to have an Open in a ground circuit. The keyswitch is sensed to ground and seems to be opening intermittently when it is hot, and also when the motor controller goes into regeneration mode. Thus, we could be getting an induction "pulse" when we go from full power to full regen. This could be a swing of over 1200 amps DC.

I'm trying to see if noise on the ground circuit could be causing an issue, or if we have an actual open. I have a 2 probe Oscilloscope and I don't understand where to place my probes. Normally I would probe a signal line and reference to ground, but in this case that seems wrong.

Thank you for your assistance, I am a newbie to Scopes and mine is very cheap. I am an ME, but self taught in EE, so while I can do DC circuits pretty well, much of the EE world is unfamiliar so please be patient and give lots of details.

Owon VDS2062 60MHz PC-based Oscilloscope, 100MHz Bandwidth, 1GSa/s Sample Rate, 10M Record Length

ErnieM

Joined Apr 24, 2011
Hi EV, welcome to the forums !!!

When you say "hot" does that mean as in "warm" or as in "on"?

Do you happen to have a schematic of the vehical?

Do you connect your control circuit together then attach to the power source at one point? I'm wondering about series resistance giving you spikes. With 1200 amps it doesn't take much resistance to give you a big spike.

Some of the power supply guru's here keep a battery powered scope on hand just to keep it 100% isolated so it can only respond to differential signals on it's probe input. Honestly, after doing a bunch of work on switching power supplies it seems transient noise is some sort of black art: I've never quite understood why I see some things on my oscilloscope.

But a switch seeming to be open should be something that can be found.

EVBuilder1

Joined Jul 18, 2014