Oscilloscope issues

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by Pythag, Sep 4, 2013.

1. Pythag

Thread Starter New Member

Sep 4, 2013
    Hi there; I really hope this is the right place for this.

I recently picked up an HP oscilloscope from a local university. I was playing around with it last night with no troubles, but after firing it up this morning it seems channel one is having some issues.

[​IMG]

In the image, I'm testing the calibration output on both channels, but only number one seems to be spiking up before slowly dropping off. This persists even after trying several different probes, so I know its a fault inside the machine.

I'm not an expert, but if I were to pop it open, my hunch would be a faulty capacitor somewhere close to the channel input that needs replacing, but I thought id post my problem online first; see if someone with a little more experience knows whats going on.

Last edited: Sep 4, 2013
  2. DerStrom8

Feb 20, 2011
    I'm guessing that's only because of the oscilloscope probe ground clip. If you shorten the ground lead on the probe, the spike will probably decrease in height. This is normal, and is exactly why you have to be careful what probes and clip styles you use for high-precision circuits and measurements.

Matt

P.S. Would you mind reducing the size of the photo? It's blown way up and makes it a bit more difficult to see all at once :p Thanks!

3. Pythag

Sep 4, 2013
    Whoops, sorry about that. Fixed.

Anyway, I'll have to try that when I get a chance. If that were the case though, why would it be exclusively on channel one, no matter which probe I use?

4. DerStrom8

Feb 20, 2011
    Thanks for fixing the size. Helps a lot.