optocoupler to control solenoid

anthonymac

Joined May 16, 2011
My background is in software. I have a solenoid with a coil that operates on 24VDC at no more than 10W so max current is 420mA. I would like to switch it on and off with a micro-controller so bought an mbed(ARM). Digital out is 3.3V when on. I found a "transistor as relay circuit" and read the description on how the transistor worked so I calculated the appropriate resistor values and was proud of myself. The solenoid/coil are about 12 feet from the desired location of the controller. I can see that distance being up to 100 feet. My plan is to have a 24VDC adapter located near the solenoid / coil and 2 wires between them (coil and adapter) and the controller. Although this may never be more than a "hobby" project, I would like to build to commercial specifications.

I e-mailed the schematic to a friend of a friend. He told me that I need an optocoupler, which before yesterday, I had never heard of. Would a 4n25 be a good place to start? Do I need any resistors on the diode side? If so what would be appropriate. In the Fairchild spec there is a graph with 10mA /1.2V somewhere in the middle; is that my target?

I don't really know what to do on the transistor side. I bet a reversed diode would still be used in to protect the transistor from kickback voltage. The original design used and PNP transistor and the 4n25 appears to use a PNP. I clearly need to do more research. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

GetDeviceInfo

Joined Jun 7, 2009
the 4n25 requires about 5ma to drive the optocoupler. See if your micro has the capability to sink that current, and calculate your resistor to obtain. Opto isolation is a good choice. You do require the diode for flyback. I haven't checked but I'm sure the 4n25 is NPN

anthonymac

Joined May 16, 2011