opto sensor, microcontroller, led display

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by akramer08, Jan 23, 2013.

1. akramer08

Thread Starter Member

Jan 23, 2013
    I am wanting to make an ammo counter for a paintball gun. I want to use an opto sensor in the barrel of the gun to sense when a paintball is fired. I want the ammo I have left to be displayed on a 3 digit led display. I have been told a microcontroller is what I need. I want to be able to set a number on the display, then count down every time a ball is fired. i am completely new to circuits and microcontrollers. I do not know what supplies I need or how to do it. Any assistance would be appreciated.

2. ErnieM

AAC Fanatic!

Apr 24, 2011
    Didn't the Marines have that in the Aliens movie? Two big 7 segments showing rounds to go?

It may be easier to count trigger presses, but I'm not a paint baller so I don't know what's inside the gun.

It's a pretty easy circuit for a micro, which is to say you have a lot of work ahead to get one working.

So I have one question to ask you... are you feeling lucky, punk?

3. akramer08

Thread Starter Member

Jan 23, 2013
    Ha, nice one. Occasionally, a paintball may not be loaded into the chamber in time before the gun tries to shoot, basically a blank fire. So the trigger would be pressed, the ammo counter would go down by 1, but a paintball would never come out. Thats why I thought of using the opto sensor in the barrel so it only counts when it truly is supposed to.

4. tshuck

Oct 18, 2012
    You then need to take into account the capability for the ball to break in the barrel and whether or not the sensing circuit will detect one, or two balls from that.

What happens when your hopper is empty? Do you load more paintballs and reset your counter with the pre-counted number of balls in your reserve?

5. ErnieM

AAC Fanatic!

Apr 24, 2011