Operational Amplifier

Discussion in 'Homework Help' started by thisonedude, Aug 13, 2014.

1. thisonedude

Thread Starter Member

Apr 20, 2014
    So i am just beginning to learn about op amps and i have a few questions that have been bothering my about this thing.

How can the amplifier have no current in the inputs? If it has no current, then it has no voltage at the input, which mean it has no voltage at the outputs. So how does it work?! What is the purpose of an op amp?! How can it function if it has no current!?

2. shteii01

AAC Fanatic!

Feb 19, 2010
    It has "no current" going in because it has REAAAAAAAAAAAAALY high resistance.

It has voltage at the input because voltage is a FIELD. It does not need a medium/channel.

For the rest you can read wiki.

3. thisonedude

Thread Starter Member

Apr 20, 2014

Wait but for the input voltagae i though V =IR, If the curren is 0, then shouldn't the voltage also be zero?

4. MrChips

Oct 2, 2009
    Who every told you that an op-amp has no input current is wrong.

The input current could be very small, like micro-amps.

But the op-amp still works because it is an amplifier.

5. thisonedude

Thread Starter Member

Apr 20, 2014
    In terms of an ideal op amp...every book and every youtube video i've seen or read say that no current flows in or out of the inputs.

6. MrChips

Oct 2, 2009
    That is for an ideal op-amp. In the real world no op-amp is ideal.

An ideal op-amp has the following characteristics:

• Infinite input resistance
    • Zero output resistance
    • Infinite gain
    • Infinite bandwidth
    No such op-amp exists in the real world.

7. MikeML

AAC Fanatic!

Oct 2, 2009
    Hey Dude,

do this simple thought experiment:

Imagine you have a 9V battery (fresh)

Connect a voltmeter + to + and - to -
    It reads ~9V, right?

Now connect a 100K resistor across the battery terminals: If you are real observant, you might notice that the voltmeter reads just a little less, but ignore that for now...,