Operational amplifier INA114 help

ayane

Joined May 3, 2009
hi, i am new to operational amplifier. I want to know whether this chip is able to sense an input current of 1.3A?.

The specs state power supply input current is 2ma.

If it is not able, any recommendations on any operational amplifier, i have scouted farnell and rs but could not seem find any at the moment.

t06afre

Joined May 11, 2009
NO! Your chip can not sense 1.3A:eek:. But it can very well measure a small voltage drop over a (small) resistor. Then measuring current you "break" the circuit, and insert a small resistor that do not cause to much measurement error. Then you measure the voltage over this resistor. For a 1.3A current the resistor may be a low as 0.1Ohm, or less.

ayane

Joined May 3, 2009
thanks..i had attached my circuit. The circuit supply is from a solar panel that i had constructed.

my Vin supply has a range of 0.2A to 1.3A ( max)..

i set the gain of the instrumentation amplifier to 126. by adding Rg= 400ohms.

I set the R sense to 0.1 ohms. Actually i want to sense a 0.6A current from the supply. the voltage across the R sense resistor will be 0.6 X 0.1 = 0.06V.

The vout of my instrumentation amplifier will be 7.56V. The input supply to the amplifier from my voltage regulator is approx 12.7V.

The vout of my instrumentation amplifier is feed in to the comparator LM393 at the inverting input. For the non-inverting input, the reference is set by 10kohm/ ( 10kohm +10 kohm) = 1/2

Than 1/2 * Vin = 1/2 * 12.7v= 6.35V.

So when the Vout of my instrumentation amplifier is higher than 6.35V , the led will light up..

I use a 1Kohm resistor to limit the current to the led.

Will it work?

Attachments

t06afre

Joined May 11, 2009