Opamp works with DC won't amplify AC

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by kochevnik, Jun 25, 2013.

1. kochevnik

Thread Starter New Member

Jan 7, 2013
    Hi all -

I'm a beginner so be kind :)

I have an inverting opamp circuit (similar to attached) that is working just fine with DC on the I- pin but when I set up my function generator to output an AC signal of roughly the same voltage P-P the opamp is outputting a similar sinewave, but it's not amplified very much.

The opamp is a MCP6241-E/P with 550khz gain bandwidth product (datasheet attached). I'm powering it with a voltage 5.35 V on Vdd and Vdd/ 2 = 2.66v on I+ and this opamp is supposed to go rail to rail (which it does with DC just fine).

The basic circuit I have is with a 1 M ohm resistor from Vout to I- and then I have a bunch of different resistors I try on Vin 800k 467k 325k 200k etc this lets me easily watch the change on Vout as I change the gain. This all works great with DC - I get almost the exact right voltages on Vout that would be predicted from the opamp formulas.

So now I hook up a 150khz - not quite a clean sine wave - from my signal generator but fairly close, then I use the EXACT same setup, only adding a 4u7 cap on Vin (I was under the impression this is a DC blocking cap) and then check Vin and Vout on my scope while I change the resistor values on Vin (same values I have listed above).

The output is a nice clean sinewave, but the peak to peak voltage does not vary much (5% maybe) as I try the different resistor combinations.

For example - my not so clean sine wave going into Vin is 0.285v P2P and on Vout I get a nice clean sinewave of 0.530 volts P2P - for ALL of the different resistor combos above. I switch them and I get some small changes in Vout, but nothing like the changes I got with the DC testing.