Opa 637bp problem

Nichloas123

Joined Apr 12, 2013
Hello there

I just purchased the opa637 for my cmoy tin amp but they don't seem to
Work properly , there is a lot of static when I turn it on but the sound becomes
Stable in just over a quarter turn on the volume , do you think that it might
Be the gain , I'm new to all this I'm a big fan of great sound quality would
Not call myself an audio file , I would love to be but can't get my head around
All the technical stuff please help.

Thank you

GopherT

Joined Nov 23, 2012
The mccoy amp is an internet gimick "pocket amplifier" many beginners seem to find but is a terrible design. A standard audio amplifier will sound much better because the bass will be loud enough to be heard. Just because a high quality op amp is recommended and some audio can be heard doesn't mean it is high fidelity in any way.

The floating ground will fluctuate as the load varies (V= I x R) especially since the resistance is relatively high.

The maximum power into the headphones is 3.5 mA which is mostly limited by the 4700 ohm resistance from the floating ground to a "power" rail.

http://tangentsoft.net/audio/cmoy-tutorial/misc/cmoy-tangent-sch.pdf

Ron H

Joined Apr 14, 2005
The mccoy amp is an internet gimick "pocket amplifier" many beginners seem to find but is a terrible design. A standard audio amplifier will sound much better because the bass will be loud enough to be heard. Just because a high quality op amp is recommended and some audio can be heard doesn't mean it is high fidelity in any way.

The floating ground will fluctuate as the load varies (V= I x R) especially since the resistance is relatively high.

The maximum power into the headphones is 3.5 mA which is mostly limited by the 4700 ohm resistance from the floating ground to a "power" rail.

http://tangentsoft.net/audio/cmoy-tutorial/misc/cmoy-tangent-sch.pdf
Aren't you ignoring the 2x220uF caps on the virtual ground?

Nichloas123

Joined Apr 12, 2013