Op Amp, LED flicker

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by cjeung, Dec 8, 2013.

1. cjeung

Thread Starter New Member

Mar 31, 2011
    I've built this op amp circuit to boost power to a PWM LED light control. I'm controlling circuit using Arduino controller. When I set the values to 0 (off), after a second or two, I start to get some light flickering. I'm not trained in electronics, so I'm guessing I may need a pull down resistor. Could use advise on if I'm correct, and where I might need to place them.

the Arduino pins (3,11) are supplying source PW to the op amp. Can I place pull down resistors at the (+) inputs? anything else? Also, ont other thing that may be important, the output pulse are connected to control leads of an LED power supply. In case you think it's overdriving the PWM (just thinking out loud).

Many Thanks to the experts at ABC

Last edited: Dec 8, 2013
  2. Maxfooo

Aug 24, 2013
    Hello cjeung,

I am no pro either, but I think I have two or so sense to put in. Generally you want to utilize the negative input in an op-amp simply because of the operation of the amplifiers are generally designed to have the signal be put into the inverting side. Second it would be worth while to actually use a comparator for your purpose of PWM because you are not looking for any sort of variable gain. Third, your right about putting a pull down resistor in the circuit. In your case you could very well put a 100k resistor at the non-inverting input (the output of you I/O), but I recommend, again, that you use the inverting input and either put the signal through through another inverting comparator, or an inverter. If you choose to go that route, then you do not need the feedback because you are not looking for any noise immunity, as you configuration would allow for. What the feedback is doing, to me it seems, is that is is protecting the output signal from any wavering input signal, but with your pull-down installed, and the I/O pin coming from the ard