Op amp circuit help

SwatKat

Joined Nov 25, 2009
Hi

I found this Battery Equal Charge Indicator circuit here

http://freecircuits.wikidot.com/
(The third circuit down the page)

I was wondering why such an elaborate circuit is used. Cant I just stick the batteries as inputs to an op amp and use the output (if they are unequal) to drive some sort of indicator?

I am sure there is some sort of explanation that eludes me. I'm a beginner. Could someone explain this to me please?

steveb

Joined Jul 3, 2008
Hi

I was wondering why such an elaborate circuit is used. Cant I just stick the batteries as inputs to an op amp and use the output (if they are unequal) to drive some sort of indicator?

I am sure there is some sort of explanation that eludes me. I'm a beginner. Could someone explain this to me please?
First of all, that circuit is not all that elaborate. However, there is always more than one way to meet a goal. It's quite possible you can come up with a simple arrangement with an opamp. I can imagine some ways myself. However, I don't know if that approach will allow as accurate a control on the voltage tolerance.

Feel free to post your attempt and submit it here for critique.

BMorse

Joined Sep 26, 2009
yes, you can just use 2 opamps, actually a dual opamp such as the LM1458 would work, then you can set trip points on both and feed the ouput into a 4011 to switch/turn on an indicator.....

My .02

steveb

Joined Jul 3, 2008
yes, you can just use 2 opamps, actually a dual opamp such as the LM1458 would work, then you can set trip points on both and feed the ouput into a 4011 to switch/turn on an indicator.....

My .02
Two opamps and a 4011 is just as "elaborate" :p as three comparitors.