One switch, multiple delay outputs help please

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by matzy, Apr 14, 2011.

1. matzy

Thread Starter New Member

Apr 14, 2011
    Hi,

I am trying to find a diagram or help in creating a circuit that uses a 9v input and when operated by a switch it triggers multiple 9v outputs on separate terminals. In principle it should be very easy, but i'm a complete newbie on the electronic circuitry required to do this, I'm perfectly fine with a soldering iron and wiring things up, just need a plan to work from. It doesn't necessarily need to be 9v but its easier as I can simply run it from a 9v battery then

I'll explain what it is for which should help to clarify what i'm after.

I am part owner of a paintball company and we are currently organising a game which has our usual pyro effects involved. Usually I trigger most pyro effects using a remote system, or at its most basic using a 9v battery and speaker wire. The pyros are ignited by simply passing them a 6v+ current. For this game I want to be able to flick a switch and have it trigger multiple currents with varied time delays (as low as half a second maybe) which will allow me to create a multiple bang explosion effect instead of the standard press a button and one bang.

I have looked at many ideas and i'm thinking using multiple 555 timer IC's to do this, I would also need a way to be able to control the delay of each output if possible so I could create something like the following

Output 1: Delay 0 seconds
    Output 2: Delay 0.1 seconds
    Output 3: Delay 0.5 seconds
    Output 4: Delay 1 seconds
    Output 5: Delay 1.2 seconds

If its still not clear what i#m after please ask me and i'll try to explain a little clearer.

Many thanks

2. BillB3857

Feb 28, 2009
    You could use a counter scheme with a 555 timer supplying 0.1 second pulses. A binary ripple counter with appropriate gate decoding could supply what you need.

3. matzy

Apr 14, 2011