On / Off Panel of LED Circuits - Wiring

imruffsdad

Joined Jul 18, 2008
Hello,

I'm trying to build a simple panel of LED's (all the same 3 volts) in rows, and under each LED is an on/off switch (O = LED and X = Switch). I've actually got these all set up in a thin piece of sheet metal.

O O O O O O O O O O
X X X X X X X X X X

There are three rows like the above with 10 LED's in each row and a switch for every LED.

I want to wire them up so that I can turn them on and off at will by flipping the switch without effecting any other LED in the grid. Simple right? Flip a switch and the LED is on, flip it again and it's off. Flip all the switched and they are all on, etc.

Ignoring the on off switches for a moment:

I'm a newbie but from what I've read, I should be able to wire these together in parallel and hook them up to two AA batteries in a carrier and then wire all the positives to the positive of the carrier and then negative to the negative of the carrier and they should all light up. The batteries won't last very long but if I've read correctly they should all light up, is this correct? Do I have the Volts part right but I'll be maxing out the amps of my two double AA's?

Now bring in the switches:

This is were I get confused (assuming the last paragraph was remotely accurate.) I'm thinking I wire the positive to the bottom of all my switches and then take the other terminal of the switch and wire that to the positive of each LED. In my head that means the positive is always flowing because it goes from the bottom of each switch to the next and when I flip the switch it send the power to the LED. How am I doing with that logic?

Last, I don't want to use batteries:

I want to use a wall wart to power this grid. Does the wall wart need to be three volts? Can I ask for some help on the Amperage, assuming parallel and all the same voltage LED's is correct from above, what's the amperage for a grid of 30 3V LED's?

Micellaneous Questions: