On-Off-On switch for 2 series of LED lights (newbie)

AFPara

Joined Feb 5, 2015
Ok ladies and gentlemen, I came up with a project that hearkens back to my early days in the military. Forgive me if something similar has been posted previously, but I was unable to locate anything through the search function.

I am trying to recreate the green (jump) and red (caution) lights used by paratroopers on the inside of military aircraft, in my truck (12v). My plan is to use an On-Off-On switch to control the color being illuminated. I believe, and I have no prior experience with circuitry, and lack the terminology, that I would be running 2 sets of 2 LEDs in series, for a total of 4 LEDs. 2 reds illuminated on one half of the switch, and 2 greens illuminated on the other half of the switch.

I have read through some of the other posts, and kind of understand some of the help that has been given out. I understand that resistors will be required so as not to burn out the LEDs, and that I can run them in series as well, to get the desired result (next highest level, in combination, i.e. 555 required, but 600 will work). I also have a basic understanding of the formula to come to this determination.

These would be my questions (I have tried to place them in a logical order):

1. The power source ties directly to the "common" pole of the On-Off-On switch, where does the switch ground?

2. Where does the annode end terminate? Is this where the switch grounds? Would both series have a common ground?

3. Running them in series, the annode end of the 1st LED is wired to the cathode end of the 2nd LED?

4. Should this be a separate circuit, or would it be safe to tie into an existing one running approximately the same amperage?

5. Will the length of wire run between the switch and the terminus affect the output? If so, how would I figure the loss, and what should be done to remedy that?