Old Newbie with Some Simple Questions - 002

olnoob

Joined Jun 26, 2013
It's been a while since I was here. I posted a question several months ago and got great answers. Here are a few more that should be pretty easy for a lot of you guys. (Please remember that I am a total noob. :) )

1) What does one call a potentiometer/variable resistor that is also an on-off switch? They look like this:

pot.jpg

and you can press the "handle" down to toggle the circuit open and closed. It's like two separate switches in one, in other words. On-off and variable resistance.

I ask because I need a few for a project. I want to buy them online and searching for an electronic component without knowing what it's called is no fun any time. lol.

2) I need these for a DC application. I need to be able to modify 5 to 15 volts DC to within 0.1 volts over a range of say 2 volts. (From 4.0 to 6.0 via 0.1 v steps, for instance. And from say 11.0 to 13.0 with the same degree of accuracy.) What "law" do I use to know what specs to shoot for?

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

olnoob

Joined Jun 26, 2013
Most important to design is the load current.
I should've cited more info.

I'll be using 3 of these.

1) 5V 15A
2) 12V 2A
3) -5V 1A
110 watts.

So #1 will need to go from 4V to 6V via 0.1V increments.

#2 will need to get me from 11 to 13, same accuracy.

#3 same as #1 except it's negatory. (And I don't EVEN understand what that means!)

Joined Nov 30, 2010
There is no such thing as a 15 amp potentiometer under $100.
You are going to end up using the "potentiometer with switch" to control some transistors or regulator chips. This will require us to understand much more about your circuit. For instance, those voltages look like the power supply for a computer. What are you starting with and where are you trying to go?

olnoob

Joined Jun 26, 2013
There is no such thing as a 15 amp potentiometer under $100.