Old Magazine Project, cant find right chip...

Discussion in 'Embedded Systems and Microcontrollers' started by Detonator, Apr 27, 2011.

1. Detonator

Thread Starter Member

Mar 6, 2010
    Wasn't sure if to post this in the "projects" forum or here, but my first problem is the micro-controller, so shall start here. ;)

I am looking to build a DMX Tester just to be handy in my work, spent literally hours upon hours trying to find a design online that i could use. Really seems not many around that i could find, but found one that has all the features i want buts its from 2002 in Elektor Magazine. Heres the project page:

http://www.elektor.com/magazines/2002/june/portable-dmx-tester.55709.lynkx

Now my major issue is i cant seem to find a supplier that has that Atmel chip, its i assume an old model etc is it? Tried RS / Mouser / Farnell / Digikey and some local suppliers, all show zero stock and on calling both RS and Farnell locally they say its an old product.

So heres my question to you experts..... Is there a chip i can use? As a substitute at all, that will of course work with the same supplied HEX code as i have no idea at all about coding chips sadly. Or frankly any other suggestions on how i can build that Elektor project in 2011 ?

Thanks in advance all...

EDIT: Should have added of course, i have emailed Elektor and they say they don't do the chips anymore either blank or pre-programmed sadly..

2. Detonator

Thread Starter Member

Mar 6, 2010
    Probably should have added to save time clicking links, the chip is : AT90S8515

3. t06afre

AAC Fanatic!

May 11, 2009
    Do you have the code for this project? You may be able to port it to another chip. Elector did sell this chip pre programmed. But without any code it is hopeless to create this project. Even if you can get hold on the MCU

4. Detonator

Thread Starter Member

Mar 6, 2010