Old Components.....

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by Lancester, Feb 5, 2011.

1. Lancester

Thread Starter New Member

Feb 5, 2011
    Hello all. Newbie here.
    I am about to beging construction on a Heathkit SA-2 Tube audio amplifier that was originally sold in 1960. I am wondering what the "shelf life" of electronic components, mainly capacitors, is. Of course if this kit had been built back then & I was planning to use it I would be re-capping the entire unit.

[​IMG]

2. spinnaker

AAC Fanatic!

Oct 29, 2009
    Probably not worth building just for the tubes alone Tubes have a vacuum just like a light bulb. That vacuum has probably been breached a long time ago.

Resistors will even change their value over many years.

3. Adjuster

Dec 26, 2010
    The tubes would certainly be worth testing, or at least not discarded out of hand unless they have obviously leaked. Visible cracks or whitening of the usually metallic getter deposits would be clear pointers to air entry. Considerable numbers of tubes have survived in working order from as far back as the 1920s, so it is really not impossible for 1960's devices still to be good.

As for the capacitors, the electrolytics should certainly not be used without re-forming, a process which might or might not work. How good would their performance and life expectancy be after all that bother? Any paper capacitors should be regarded with the very greatest of suspicion. These things are horribly prone to going leaky, even if stored under dry conditions. Capacitor failure can lead to burnt-out tubes and transformers, so maybe the originals would be better not used, even if apparently good.

The resistors at least are simpler to test. If you found that many had drifted, perhaps get them all changed.

Actually, I think the main things that are of value in such a kit are the transformers, chassis, and other metalwork. Are you sure they are OK?

4. russ_hensel

Jan 11, 2009