Ok, so I graduated with a BS in Electrical Engineering

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by assassin___0, Nov 21, 2013.

1. assassin___0

Thread Starter New Member

May 10, 2011
    But I don't feel like an engineer... at all. It's like I passed these four years of school solely on prayers. Luckily, i have a family business in industrial machine repair, like motor drives and power supplies, so i guess i'm still employed one way or another. All the other companies i applied to turned me down, most of them because of my social skills.

So what I plan on doing now is self educating on things that are relevant to the work industries, not crap that only matter in books. So in case I start applying again I'll have luck. My work shop is a great place to practice too during times i'm not repairing.

Can you guys suggest some things to brush up on/ extensively practice on things related to power electronics? So if I go to apply for a power electronic position, i'd have some good stuff in my experience.

On another note, i know circuits are like bread and butter of electrical engineering, but I feel i don't know enough of general common circuit designs. I'm talking small things, like I know there is such a thing like a voltage follower circuit to add high impedance at the input. Do you have a useful links that I can use to brush up on circuits that are application oriented, and not just explanation using math.

This was kind of a long post, but business is slow as hell and i'm sitting here doing nothing right now.

Expert

Nov 30, 2010
    LOL! It is common knowledge that a brand new BSEE lacks practical skills. You don't have much of the wisdom that comes from experience.