Oh no! Word links to ads in posts.

Discussion in 'Off-Topic' started by KMoffett, Jun 1, 2012.

  1. KMoffett

    Thread Starter AAC Fanatic!

    Dec 19, 2007
    2,574
    230
    Just noticed double-underlined/red words in posts here linked to pop-up ads today. Ech!

    Ken
     
  2. Wendy

    Moderator

    Mar 24, 2008
    20,765
    2,536
    I remember hearing about a 3rd party app (maleware to my mind) that does this. It is not a part of AAC.
     
  3. KMoffett

    Thread Starter AAC Fanatic!

    Dec 19, 2007
    2,574
    230
    Bill,

    Is it in the poster's computer...or mine? Am I the only one seeing it?
    Ken
     
  4. Wendy

    Moderator

    Mar 24, 2008
    20,765
    2,536
    Yes, that is what malware is. It is presenting itself as if it is the site. It is not.

    It is possible to have the same malware in more than one machine.


    So how about it folks, anyone else see this happening? I don't.

    You may need to do a through scan on your / their computer.

    Unless...

    Are you logged in?
     
  5. KMoffett

    Thread Starter AAC Fanatic!

    Dec 19, 2007
    2,574
    230
    Yep, logged in. guess 'll run a scan.

    Ken
     
  6. Wendy

    Moderator

    Mar 24, 2008
    20,765
    2,536
    OK. I have heard reports of advertisements on people who are not logged in. Since I am always logged in (being a moderator I learned my password due to using it all the time).
     
  7. gerty

    AAC Fanatic!

    Aug 30, 2007
    1,153
    304
    I don't see it here...
     
  8. tracecom

    AAC Fanatic!

    Apr 16, 2010
    3,869
    1,393
    Identify a specific post in which you are seeing this, please.
     
  9. Wendy

    Moderator

    Mar 24, 2008
    20,765
    2,536
  10. KMoffett

    Thread Starter AAC Fanatic!

    Dec 19, 2007
    2,574
    230
    I went to my desktop computer, and do not see the pop-ups in the posts where I did on my laptop. :( Guess it's me. The laptop is being scanned now.

    Ken
     
  11. bretm

    Member

    Feb 6, 2012
    152
    24
    Most likely something installed itself as a browser plugin. What browser is it?
     
  12. SgtWookie

    Expert

    Jul 17, 2007
    22,182
    1,728
    A few tools that I use:
    Malwarebytes Anti-Malware: http://www.filehippo.com/download_malwarebytes_anti_malware/
    Spybot Search & Destroy: http://www.safer-networking.org/en/mirrors/index.html
    Javacool Spywareblaster: http://www.brightfort.com/spywareblaster.html
    SUPERAntiSpyware: http://www.superantispyware.com/download.html

    All of the above are available in freeware versions.
    Javacool has recently been acquired by Brightfort. Spywareblaster is strictly a "prophylactic" type anti-malware; known bad sites are added to a list, and afterwards your computer can no longer access those sites. It won't remove an infection, but rather it prevents a large number of infections from occurring in the first place.

    I have provided links to where you can download the "real" software, as simply doing a Google search won't necessarily get you to the real download sites.

    If you still have the problematic pop-up links showing up, you can go here:
    http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/
    They have volunteers who will help cleanse your computer of malware.
    It is also the site where Combofix can be obtained. Don't try to run this on your own unless you really know what you're doing, as you may wind up turning your computer into a brick.
     
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2012
  13. #12

    Expert

    Nov 30, 2010
    16,277
    6,788
    Question for R!f@@.

    Does Maleware come from Maledives?

    Sorry. Had to get my silly in for today.

    Anyway, I have not seen any ads on this site.
    If I do, I will install the backup copy of my O.S.
     
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2012
  14. nerdegutta

    Moderator

    Dec 15, 2009
    2,515
    785
    No, I don't. But I'm running Linux.
     
  15. t06afre

    AAC Fanatic!

    May 11, 2009
    5,939
    1,222
    I am not seeing this. By the way. Is it true that some ads are visible then you are not logged in. I have heard something about it. But seen it myself
     
  16. KMoffett

    Thread Starter AAC Fanatic!

    Dec 19, 2007
    2,574
    230
    Used the laptop in a motel over last weekend. Probably got it there.
    I have Symatec Endpoint Protection. Ran it and found nothing.
    Installed Malwarebytes Anti-Malware and ran it. It found a couple of "things", but didn't solve the problem.
    Installed and ran Spybot S&D. Again, it found a couple more "things", but didn't solve the problem.

    Registered on Bleepingcomputer...but was overwhelmed.

    Seems to be just with vBulletin sites.

    All of the popups are to "easy inline" ads.

    Think I'll do a little Google'ing on that.

    Ken

    Ken
     
  17. loosewire

    AAC Fanatic!

    Apr 25, 2008
    1,584
    435
    Okay,you guys are having trouble using the free wi-fi , if you use a paid service

    would you have that problem.
     
  18. Wendy

    Moderator

    Mar 24, 2008
    20,765
    2,536
    Major Geeks.com is also good about helping fix malware, and they also give combo fix ans some proprietary software away.
     
  19. SgtWookie

    Expert

    Jul 17, 2007
    22,182
    1,728
    Ken,
    Easy Inline is a part of Yontoo, a toolbar that you probably installed - or else it was installed along with something else that you wanted.

    This page tells you how to disable or remove it:
    http://www.easyinline.com/support
     
  20. R!f@@

    AAC Fanatic!

    Apr 2, 2009
    8,750
    760
    I wish it did....:D
    To OP, Nope....nothing .....everything fine.
    I am running Eset Smart security with PC tools spy doctor. Since I had one hell of a episode recently I am running them both. Paid them too.
     
Loading...