Off the shelf small project and I've blown something

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by chi11i, Nov 16, 2008.

1. chi11i

Thread Starter New Member

Nov 16, 2008
    Hopefully I am allowed to ask such a basic Q on this forum.

I bought an off the shelf electronic project that allows me to connect a houseplant to twitter - one of these http://www.botanicalls.com/kits/

I'm new to electronics of course, built the circuit plugged it in and it worked for about 2 mins, then ceased. After head scratching i realised i had used a US AC/DC apadter (input 120v 60Hz output 6v DC 300mA) in a UK socket (240v).

Ok - I know that was very silly of me. I've tried a UK adapter but alas I've blown something. Looking at the components used in the circiut here: http://www.botanicalls.com/kits/getting-started/ would anyone know where i should begin in swapping peices?

Sorry for such a newbie post, if there's a more appropriate forum somewhere I'd be happy to be advised on where to ask.

Thank you

2. hgmjr

Jan 28, 2005
    Can you take a closeup digital picture of the component side of the board so that we can see if there are any visual signs of component failure? Make sure that the focus is as good as it can be.

hgmjr

3. steveb

Jul 3, 2008
    Are you sure you want to fix it? I bought my kids cell phones, and now they only call me when they need money. What if your plants start asking for more than just water? :)

Seriously though, is there any chance of getting a schematic of the circuit? Probably difficult, but that would really help.

Last edited: Nov 16, 2008
  4. studiot

AAC Fanatic!

Nov 9, 2007
    Did you solder or plug the microprocessor into a socket?

If you just plugged it in, unplug it and then test the voltages available at the regulator.

Test the reg voltages anyway.

It is likely that the reg held the extra voltage for a while (it worked initially you say )
    but overheated.