NPN wiring question

Ludichrislyts

Joined Apr 6, 2011
Hello,

First off, I love this website. I'm just learning about electronics (I'm 37) and AAC has been an info packed source for me.

I did have a question regarding wiring up an NPN transistor. Most other info sources show a base-emitter circuit and a collector-emitter circuit, but on on here it shows a base-emitter and base-collector circuit. Is there a functional difference?

On a little breadboard I have 5V pos. going to the collector and out the emitter, then to a resistor and finally an LED to ground. (collector-emitter circuit?) Then I have a 1.5v battery pos to 10K resistor to base lead, then out emitter to battery ground. (base-emitter circuit?) My circuit works as a switch. No led with 5V on collector-emitter circuit, and led on when 1.5v battery is applied to base. But isn't this configuration fundamentally different than what is shown on AAC?

Thanks for any and all help!
Chris

Ludichrislyts

Joined Apr 6, 2011
Hi,
Thanks for the link. That diagram made sense.
I should have mentioned where I was looking before, however. It was in Vol III-Semiconductors, Solid State Device Theory, under Bipolar junction transistors. In those pictures, the wiring is different. (reverse bias base-collector circuit, forward bias base-emitter circuit.)

Ludichrislyts

Joined Apr 6, 2011
This will be my last post on this thread, promise.
On this page, http://www.allaboutcircuits.com/vol_3/chpt_2/8.html the npn transistor has a bc circuit and a be circuit. In the link that beenthere posted above, the two circuits are ce and be.

What is the reason for the different wiring setups? It seems they both work the same when a pos V is applied to the base, but the bc circuit is a little confusing to me. Thanks!

beenthere

Joined Apr 20, 2004
Do recall that a transistor is an entity. It does not act as a loosely coupled collection of internal circuits. The C-E, C-B, and E-B circuits are to illustrate internal workings.