NPN Transistor question

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by odm4286, Nov 29, 2013.

1. odm4286

Thread Starter Active Member

Sep 20, 2009
    I ran into a little problem on a project I've been working on today and would like to learn more about what happened.

Basically I am trying to control the speed of a small DC motor via PWM from a plc. My motor was connected to a floating 1.5vdc supply then connected to the collector of my NPN transistor, my transistor base was then connected to the plc output card that would handle the PWM, my transistor emitter was connected to my 1.5vdc supply ground.

When I tried this circuit it didn't work, I scratched my head for a while and then it hit me. My PLC is powered by a GROUNDED power supply while my motor is powered by a floating 1.5vdc supply(batteries).

So I'm guessing because of the difference references things didn't work. Sorry for the rambling explanation I'm still learning. Can anyone expand of this or did I pretty much wrap it up?

2. MrChips

Oct 2, 2009
    What is the voltage required to operate the motor?
    If the motor requires 1.5VDC then the voltage drop across the NPN transistor will be enough to make the motor not work.

Yes, the emitter of the NPN transistor should be connected to the same GND as the PIC.
    You may have better success using a logic level MOSFET.
    You could also try increasing the supply voltage to the motor.

3. MaxHeadRoom

Expert

Jul 18, 2013
    What PLC are you using to control the motor? Is this PLC in the industrial sense, ladder logic controller?
    Max.

4. SgtWookie

Expert

Jul 17, 2007
    You did not mention a current limiting resistor between the plc output pin and the base of the transistor. This will result in excessive I/O pin current, possibly destroying that pin or the plc.