npn emitter follower confirmation

jetbat

Joined Oct 21, 2009
Hi. I am new to transistors and I think I have figured out what I am doing, but I would like to confirm that I have the right resistor values for a emitter follower circuit. I wanted 100mA output, but the closest 5 watt resistor I have is 68R. (If I figured correctly, the resistor will need to be over 1 watt) So I am working around that with what I think will be 117mA output. The NPN transistor is a MPS2222A.

Attached is a schematic of the circuit.

With the voltage divider bias resistors, the closest values I have are 680R and 880R.

So I have two questions. 1. Have I done the math correctly for figuring out the resistor values? 2. Are the 680R and 880R resistors close enough to work?

Thanks
Scott

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
Scott,
Your schematic didn't "take".
It's best to post images in a .png format; as those type images are both compact and not "lossy" like .jpg images are.

1) In your schematic capture program, do a screen print by pressing Ctrl+PrintScreen
2) Start MSPaint.
3) Paste the image into MSPaint using Ctrl+V or Edit/Paste.
4) Save the file as type .png
5) Upload to the forum using the "Go Advanced", "Manage Attachments" buttons.

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
Actually the emitter resistors isn't that important. It sets the current through the transistor, and controls the current from +16V to ground when the transistor is off. The current from the transistor to ground is only limited by the load and the gain of the transistor.

The base to ground resistance is determined by the gain of the transistor and the emitter resistor. If the transistor has a hfe (also known as beta, β) of 150 then the base to ground resistance is β X Re (68Ω X 150), or 10.2KΩ. This resistance will interact with the bias resistors.