Now what

J0ker

Joined Apr 18, 2012
Hi!

I'm learning electronics as I hobbie. Maybe in the future I'd like to go into some kind of robotics (i'm a programmer) or IA...

Long story short, I've studied and understood the basic laws of electronics, same with basic components (capacitors, transistors and so on). Now that i know all of this, what should I do know? I find myself not able to understand the purpose of a circuit when I see a schema.

How can I start from simple circuits to more complicated ones to start grasping the real application of components? I have the multisim software to try and investigate things by myself, just need some guidance I guess.

Thank you!

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
I wholeheartedly agree with panic mode. The theory and sims are nice and valuable and all that, but until you get your hands dirty and start letting the smoke out of some devices and burn your fingers a few (dozen) times, you haven't really learned much at all.

I don't know what is available today, but when I was a kid perhaps the single most influential gift I ever received was the Radio Shack 65-in-1 electronics kit. The thing, I think, was intended for high school age kids and I was only about eight and I couldn't grasp most of it, but I built a lot of circuits that I was able to follow and learned how to read schematics (from the standpoint of implementing them) and learned a lot by making changes to the schematics in the book and seeing what happened. Over the course of a few years, I slowly investigated the thing into oblivion as my experiments sent various components to never-work-again land.

The ideal thing for you (and I don't have any specific suggestions) would be to find a set of schematics for a project box that had a bunch of little circuits that could be wired together to make interesting things and start by wiring up the little circuits and getting them to work.

@android

Joined Dec 15, 2011