Novice level Multisim software / general voltage level input questions

Fieldinator89

Joined Apr 8, 2014
Hello everybody,

I am currently a student enrolled in a 100 level circuits class, "Digital Design Fundamentals". Throughout the semester we have been implementing circuits using the LogicWorks software... Anyway, I will cut to the chase. I have constructed several circuits through the LW and this being the only software I had used I felt the need to check into others out of curiosity and wanting to explore. I recently (2 days ago) purchased NI Multisim and have been doing tutorials and playing around with and have run into an issue that I have tried to find an answer to and have come up empty (probably asking the wrong questions). Basically I am trying to rebuild everything we have created thus far in LW in the Multisim software. BUT, in LW we have only used binary switches to test / control the circuits.

Actual question post rambling:
Here are my pictures to help with my question:

(Left is Multisim, Right is LogicWorks)

As seen here, I set up the full adder with the Vcc and GRND, and hooked them up to switches which I believe would similarly mimic the same thing a binary switch in LW achieves. But for some reason, which is what I'm trying to figure out, I am never able to get the 'Sum' output probe to light up. I then noticed after setting up voltage test probes that going into the first XOR gate (probe 3), the lower(S2) input was registering 5.00pV ~~ .000000000005V. I figured this was why at probe 4, right after the XOR gate, I was getting a LOW reading because there was actually a small hint of voltage causing the XOR gate to get two HIGH inputs. (Not sure if this is a correct assumption). So I then dug a little more to see if there were available inputs more similar to the binary switch in LW...