Novice here needs help/advice!

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by cornflakes, Sep 20, 2012.

1. cornflakes

Thread Starter New Member

Sep 20, 2012
    I'm not really sure where to ask this question and I found this forum and thought it might fit in.

I own some cool electronic devices and one of them is my "spy watch". I learned how to desolder/solder the battery wires with success but I've come across a new issue that I don't know how to deal with.

If any of you might be familiar with spy watches, they have a couple buttons (knobs) on the side of the watches that are for ON/OFF and MODE switch.

It's very simple to operate. All you need to do is push the knob and hold for 2 seconds to TURN ON the device (indicated by a blue led light). Then you press it again ONCE (no hold) to begin recording. To stop recording, you press it again ONCE (no hold) and the blue light comes back on in standby. To turn off the device, you push the knob and HOLD again for 2 seconds and it blinks red as it shuts off.

Now normally when I push the knob, it makes a small click sound (the internal button "clicks") and you can also feel the little click of the button. But recently the button stopped making the CLICK sound even though the button/knob still works (device still works). I opened it to take a look because usually it just means that that external button/knob and the actual internal button on the circuit board got moved and was misaligned.

But this time it wasn't the case. When I pushed the REAL button that's attached to the circuit board (LINKS TO PICS ATTACHED below), there was no click sound/feel to it. It kind of feels a little "stiff" and so the problem is that the button may always be "activating" the device or close to it even if I don't push the button anymore.