Novice attempting to read 1 Mhz data rate (1553B)

SimonKnight

Joined Mar 20, 2010
Hello,
I am new to electronics but I am hoping to build an interface to connect a computer via USB to a bi-wire serial data stream which is being clocked at 1Mhz. I have considered using a project card such as Arduino but I don't think it runs fast enough to decode my data or act as the interface.

The data in question is Manchester encoded using a clock speed of 1Mhz. I think this means that the data rate is 500 khz. The actual data is MIL STD 1553B for those who are interested; this wraps 16 data bits in 3 sync bits and a parity bit to form what I think is known as a frame of 20 bits.

The initial conversion from Manchester code to NRZ seems simple enough using either a fast comparator or a dedicated encoding/decoding IC (which range from $15-$750). The next stages are the reason for my post:
Q1: What are the methods of converting the NRZ data into either a bit or byte value stream which can be passed to a computer for further processing.
Q2: Once I have my data in a series of bytes (or bits) am I correct in thinking that I could use a FTDI chip (FT2232D USB serial converter) to get the data into the computer?

I can see from reading my own post that I will need some form of clock to define the edges of the pulses.

Thanks for reading and I apologise if I have asked "stupid" questions.

best wishes
Simon

hgmjr

Joined Jan 28, 2005
The applications I have seen that use Manchester Encoding/Decoding used the HD3-6409 IC. Since the Manchester protocol has the clock embedded in the data, the HD3-6409 separates the data and clock and these two signals in turn are fed to a synchronous serial communication port. If all you have access to is an RS-232 port then you could consider building up a synchronous to asynchronous converter using a PIC or an AVR microcontroller. Or you could buy something off the shelf at some place like BlackBox.

hgmjr

SimonKnight

Joined Mar 20, 2010