(not so) Simple opto-coupler/MOSFET question :)

Marcus2012

Joined Feb 22, 2015
Hey again everyone

Just a quick Q about opto-couplers. I need some for my modified sine wave generator but they will need to be able to handle high frequency switching. I've found a couple of Vishay ones that look fine @ 250kHz cut-off frequencies but..... the two I have found seem identical but they have different phototransistor configurations. Is this just a non-issue really and I just run opposite tracks? Apart from that they even have the same descriptions but different titles.

Here they are, can some please tell me which of these is the best? If one even is.

http://www.farnell.com/datasheets/1696905.pdf (This one does have a notice at the top that says "not recommended for new designs" anyone come across this before?)
http://www.farnell.com/datasheets/7983.pdf

This is my first time using these components so some advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks guys

mcgyvr

Joined Oct 15, 2009
yeah the pins are different but it doesn't matter as long as your circuit attaches as needed..

"not recommended blah blah" means exactly what it says..

Or basically..
"Dont use this for a new design where you expect the part to be available for a while as we are obsoleting this soon enough and you won't be able to buy it and your purchasing department will be annoying you trying to find a replacement as your boss and sales department are yelling at you because that end of life product you chose can't be found and now your customers are pissed and production is mad because the line is now shut down"

Marcus2012

Joined Feb 22, 2015
yeah the pins are different but it doesn't matter as long as your circuit attaches as needed..

"not recommended blah blah" means exactly what it says..

Or basically..