Noobie question about FPGAs

Discussion in 'Embedded Systems and Microcontrollers' started by jean28, Aug 20, 2014.

1. jean28

Thread Starter Member

Sep 5, 2012
    Good day, everyone!

I am a complete noob in FPGAs, but I need to use one this semester in a Digital Design course. I am considering one of these two, but I'm not sure which. I want to connect the FPGA to a LED display, and program a simple Pong game in it. Here are the two models:

http://www.digilentinc.com/Products/Detail.cfm?NavPath=2,400,799&Prod=S3BOARD

http://www.digilentinc.com/Products/Detail.cfm?NavPath=2,400,790&Prod=BASYS2

Basically what I want is to get an FPGA that is programmable in Verilog, and that is able to detect an input from push buttons (although I am sure that this is perfectly common in FPGAs, but since my knowledge in them is so limited, I am not sure if it is a common feature or not).

Is this project capable in an FPGA? Are both good enough for this specific project? And also, if there is a specific book or reference for me to learn more about FPGAs, it would be greatly appreciated :D.

Thank you,

2. tshuck

Oct 18, 2012
    Yes, you are right, reading a push button with a FPGA is a common occurrence.

At a glance, it looks like only the first board may be programmed over USB, where the other kit seems to only come with a parallel JTAG programmer.

The first one has a note about requiring a Digilent software (ADEPT) to work, which may, or may not matter to you.

3. jean28

Thread Starter Member

Sep 5, 2012
    Yeah, I thought it probably was very common, just like in MCU's.

Is there any specific FPGA that is very popular and has tons of support online? The Spartan-3 seems pretty popular in many places. Am I right on this?

4. Shagas

May 13, 2013
    I'm currently learning to program FPGA's in Verilog and VHDL and I'm using this dev kit.