Noob resistor questions

razz

Joined Feb 28, 2011
Ok i'm very new at this, i figured i could start learning stuff on my spare time, so i bought 100$ wort of LEDs, capacitors, resistors, etc to play around.

so i'm making a circuit, and i have abot 30 different type of resistors with me, i need one that is 330ohm, according to online source, its color is orange orange brown. However, all my resistors have 5 bands of colors, am i only suppose to read the 3 in the middle? I know one is for tolerance, but what about the 5th?
also how do you know if you're reading from left to right or right to left?
orange, black, red ....or red, black orange ? know what I mean

Thanks for any input,
i'll probably be asking more noob questions in the next few days.

R!f@@

Joined Apr 2, 2009
You should have bought a DMM first.

Five band resistors is sometimes confusing.
The temperature coefficient band is a bit futher away than the rest.

For a Metal film resistors, five bands are used. all 4 bands counts for the numericals.

The bands with equal distance is where you should look. The fifth bans is always a bit far

Bythe way...Welcome to AAC.

The more you ask the more you will learn, and the more friendlier you will become to AAC folks

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007

razz

Joined Feb 28, 2011
Read from left to right with the tolerance band on the rightmost side of the resistor.
the 1st band & 5th band are each on the bigger end, and then there is the 3 bands in the middle, so how do i know which one is the 1st band on either side and which is the 5th?

Here's a graphical 5-band resistor color code calculator for you to try out:
http://samengstrom.com/15924820/en/read/?&history=24614782,15924820,46436194,15924820
Thanks for that link ! I could use something like that to confirm I have the right resistor in hand!

someonesdad

Joined Jul 7, 2009