Noob question about how household appliances work?

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by smokemachine, May 17, 2016.

1. smokemachine

Thread Starter New Member

Apr 15, 2016
    Obviously I am a newbie. I am interested in knowing how the electronics in household appliances work such as tv's, washing machines, microwaves etc.
    I assume they all run off a programmed micro controller is that correct?

What programming language do they commonly use? or is it all manufacturer specific language?
    Is it possible to find the microcontroller inside a washing machine, connect the pins to a computer and recode it to change things like the soak duration, wash cycle length? etc

2. djsfantasi

AAC Fanatic!

Apr 11, 2010
    I would say that the appliances you list do have a microcontroller (my toaster does not).
    As far as the language, it is likely microcontroller dependent, although assembler is a common choice.
    It is unlikely that you could reprogram the microcontroller. The circuit board would be missing the required ancillary components required for in circuit programming and its production connections would obviate the possibility of such programming. I suppose that it could be possible (if not a "black blob IC) to remove the microcontroller, program it, and resolder it back. However if it is a SMD (surface mount device) this too could be challenging.

3. hp1729

Nov 23, 2015