Noob needs good PIC software

Aussie Nuf Man

Joined Nov 3, 2010
Hello all,

Lets admit it first and foremost. I am a PIC noob.

I have knowledge of PIC's, their function and the principal of how they work. I also have a fair amount of Basic knowledge however both areas of knowledge are......lets say......Dated (remember back when MultiMedia Edition windows was 3.11?). I also have a very simple knowledge of Borland C++ (12 or so yeas ago was the last time I saw this language)

I think, due to my history, PIC is probably the way to go.

So... I think it would be a good idea to treat myself as a pure noob and start fresh. The practical application I would eventually like to complete is a main board for commercial coffee machines.

The physical I/O requirements:
Outputs: min 30, max 36 + LCD
Inputs: min 22, max 25 (incl 5 x temp)
***Another input option is daisy chaining of the control touchpads however I have NO knowledge of how to do this.

I guess what I'm asking is if anyone can give me any kind of feedback of ideas and maybe point me in the general direction of microprocessor choice, easy test/project boards etc.

Russell.

beenthere

Joined Apr 20, 2004
You may make some progress by defining the function of the entire machine (possibly an upscale coffee dispenser?). It is quite important to have a functional appreciation of the device as a whole, especially with the very large number of inputs and outputs.

It is entirely possible that a number of functions are more easily controlled by other devices - say a thermostat for maintaining water temperature, for one example.

There are simple accounting routines that can track quantities of coffee, creamer, etc if the machine is loaded with known amounts of each and the amount dispensed is debited against the remainder.