Noob doin noob things and prolly makin noob mistakes.

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by The JT, Jun 5, 2014.

1. The JT

Thread Starter New Member

Jun 5, 2014
    Hi guys,

I'm pretty new to the microelectronics world. Well, in fact, I probably know less than I should.
    Anyways, I was looking around for something cool I make for my wife for our anniversary. I found this http://tobe.nimio.info/project/moodlamp/
    I know this REALLY FREAKIN OLD, but it meets my requirements for something cool my wife would actually like and use. So I buy all the stuff and make all the initial noob blunders, like not knowing I needed a HW and a SW programmer for the PIC. Moving on, I got it all put together doing everything correctly, so I think. Apparently not. When I put power to the 5v rail my RGB led comes on nice and bright. You can see that all 3 diodes are lit. But there is no color change. The switches seem to do nothing. I'm not sure where this has gone wrong. My guess is in the PIC programming. But I don't know. Can you guys assist? Also one other point of note, I used the updated files and schematic that Steve sent to Toon Beerten.
    Any help will be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance!

2. shteii01

AAC Fanatic!

Feb 19, 2010
    I am guessing you did not build the circuit in breadboard first.

3. DickCappels

Aug 21, 2008
    First off, you need to get acquainted with your PIC and your programmer and the programming software so that you will know whether your PIC is actually properly programmed.

You should probably make the improved version because I see some issues with the original hardware design. The firmware for the improved version is located at the URL below.
    http://tobe.nimio.info/project/moodlamp/rougier.zip

The schematic for the improved version is at the URL below.
    http://tobe.nimio.info/foto/schematic_update.gif