Noise Cancellation Project Idea

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by supedave, Feb 27, 2010.

1. supedave

Thread Starter New Member

Feb 27, 2010
    I am brand new to circut board projects, and I have an idea. The thing is that I have no idea how to start off.

I want to make a noise cancellation device. I want to be able to plug headphones into this device, and be able to plug in the device to some sort of audio scource. The audio scource simply passes through the device, and the device injects the inversed phase to the headphones.

I am familliar with the phase cancellation concept, and how it plays into active noise cancellation. I just have no idea how to impliment it.

From what I know, I need a microphone, whatever chip that inverses the phase of the wave, a way to integrate a calibration knob, and a power scource.

I need beginer level stuff, seeing as this is my very first project. I need everything from where to get the parts, to how to put them together, to what exactly they do and how they do it--the works.

Thanks in advance,
    Superd@ve

2. MikeML

AAC Fanatic!

Oct 2, 2009
  3. supedave

Feb 27, 2010
    Well, I'm looking for something along the lines of making a box that can cancel sound in an everyday scenerio. Say, like, where i can listen to my own music on my iPod without being able to hear my parent's music that they are playing over the car stereo.

I would really like to make it myself, and not buy it, because i think it would be fun, and I could use it as bragging rights.

I also want a way to block out my parent's music...

Thanks,
    Superd@ve

4. retched

AAC Fanatic!

Dec 5, 2009
    Oh jeez. I remember those days. There is a better way.
    Learn to appreciate all music and you will find a bond with just about anyone you come across in life.

With the quality of music being made these days, I would give the device to your parents! :D