nodal analysis question

Discussion in 'Homework Help' started by chrischivers1, Mar 23, 2015.

1. chrischivers1

Thread Starter New Member

Mar 23, 2015
    Hi,

I am having a few issues with this question about Nodal Analysis (well part (b)).

Can anyone help me out as i am very stuck.

thank you.

2. Jony130

AAC Fanatic!

Feb 17, 2009
    In which part you have a problem ?? You do not know KCL ??

3. chrischivers1

Mar 23, 2015
    Overall.. I'm a mature student returning to it after 11 years.. Bit rusty..

Any pointers?
    Thanks for taking a look btw

4. chrischivers1

Mar 23, 2015
    The circuit I have only has 1 current source.. How do I attack that as the one in the video has two.

5. Jony130

AAC Fanatic!

Feb 17, 2009
    All you have to to is to write a two KCL equation for two node.
    [​IMG]
    First a KCL for node A (Va) next write KCL for node B (Vb). But you need to write all component currents in terms of a its nodal voltages.
    For example R1 resistor current is IR1 = Va/R1. The voltage across the 20kΩ resistor is the difference between the voltage on the node on top (Va) of the resistor and the voltage on the node on the bottom of the resistor (Vground).

6. chrischivers1

Mar 23, 2015
    Thanks, I'll heed your advice and watch the video.
    It's not hard, I'm just rusty.

7. Jony130

AAC Fanatic!

Feb 17, 2009
    Are you managed to solve this circuit?

8. chrischivers1

Mar 23, 2015
    Just going thru it now.
    It's a similar layout to the video just doesn't have the 3rd variable

9. Jony130

AAC Fanatic!

Feb 17, 2009
    Exactly

10. chrischivers1

Mar 23, 2015
    How do you break it down for the current over each component tho? Surely when you know A and B you'd only be able to find the current of R1 and R2.. By ohms law.
    What about the others?

11. Jony130

AAC Fanatic!

Feb 17, 2009
    Hmm, what about R3 current?
    What is the voltage across R3?