Newby needing gate opener project help

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by oldplcguy, Nov 10, 2013.

1. oldplcguy

Thread Starter New Member

Nov 10, 2013
    First off I'm new here and was really excited when I found this site. If you guys can help me on my project it will be appreciated and in time I hope I can offer some help to return the favor. Thank You in advance for any and all help on this project.

A little about me,

I used to be a PlC programmer about 12 years ago but because of a car accident I can no longer pursue what was once my passion in life. I haven't touched a PLC or a control center in 12 years and my memory of it is a bit blurry to say the least. My memory of circuits and relays is a bit fuzzy but I think it will come back to me as I complete a couple projects.

The project in question,

I have a small fishing boat that I need to put behind a gate to keep my neighbors and my Home Owners Association happy. My problem is the double swing gate I need to put the boat behind is a manual gate. I also have grass between the concrete sidewalk and the gate I need to get to. I am in a wheelchair and it is very difficult to get through the grass to open the gates. I need to make a power gate that I can open from my van. I tried to use a power gate opener but the only ones that would work and are within my budget mount on the outside of the gate which is not allowed by my Home Owners Association. I know I could probably fight them on this because I am handicapped but I prefer to just come up with a solution that makes everybody happy.

My plan,