Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by Ozjello, Aug 12, 2008.

1. Ozjello

Thread Starter Member

Aug 12, 2008
    Hello all,

I am new to electronics other than the odd high school project.

I am trying to design an interface to an O2 Wide band Air/Fuel ratio circuit output that I already have that is an unbuffered (no sink or source) 0-5V DC Output

The image below is my attempt at a schematic that has 4 sections.

A TLC555 (texas instruments) timer circuit to generate a 4Hz 20% duty cycle logic output for the sample and hold circuit

The sample and hold circuit itself (National LF398) to sample the 0-5VDC source and output to another circuit I havent designed yet to represent this sample in an LED bar-graph/dot graph.

Along with these is a -5VDC regulator circuit (based on LMC7660) to create the dual rail +-5V supply for the LF398, and an adjustable voltage regulator for the +3VDC to run the 555 timer with so that the logic input to the sample and hold circuit is less that the source input voltage as required by the datasheet for that component.

I am looking for some suggestions/criticisms, and also help in selecting the Wattage range of the resistors, and also Voltage and type of capacitors.

Any help anyone can give me would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
    Tim

[​IMG]

Last edited: Aug 12, 2008
  2. Audioguru

Dec 20, 2007
    You show an ordinary 555 that has a minimum supply voltage of 4.5V but it has only 3V.
    It probably won't work.

3. Ron H

AAC Fanatic!

Apr 14, 2005
    Why do you need a sample and hold?

4. SgtWookie

Expert

Jul 17, 2007
    Audioguru's right about the 555 not working on a 3v supply. You could use a CMOS version though, like an LMC555.