Newbie wanting to learn about clocks and timed dispensers

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by New2EE, Dec 15, 2013.

1. New2EE

Thread Starter New Member

Sep 23, 2009
    I have an idea for a project, but I am a complete newb. I want to make a dispenser that dispenses an item according to a very specific set of rules (I will cross the programming bridge when I get there)

Here is what I need it to be capable of:
    This device will only allow the user to activate it a set number of times per 24 hour period.

The device will need memory to keep a running total of how many times it has been activated over the course of a 6 month period of time.

It will need to display a counter of how many activations are left in the current day

battery backup (for the clock and memory, not for mechanical actuation).

I would really like to actually LEARN how to do all of this and then do it myself instead of someone saying "here's how you do it", so if you have any suggested reading beyond the textbook here (Or pages of the textbook that will pertain to what I'm doing) I would appreciate it. Another way would be to very vaguely explain the circuit I would need so that I can research the parts and what not.

I imagine I would need 5v PS, a microcontroller that can be programmed from a PC (maybe a PIC can do this? I don't know).

I imagine the display to just be an old school 2 digit LED, which I don't know how to make the numbers show up on...

A digital switch and actuation system

I don't know anything about memory, but I am going to read the chapter on it tonight :)

and then the mechanics I think I can figure out.