Newbie to Electronics -How to get started?

ShenLun

Joined Jul 23, 2015
Hi

As per the topic title I am a complete newbie to electronics and would like to know where I should start.
There is associate degrees in Australia, at university but I live way to far away and want to know where I should start.

My first thing in mind is to buy the following project and start with it, and I am kinda looking for a similar process where I buy the tools and equipment and learn from the basics up in each area etc.

http://www.pirateselectronics.com/products/pirates-electronics-kit

So this is coming in September and I would like to get a head start, I don't know the difference between a ohmn to a diode etc. I am a disability pensioner with a neurological condition so working full time is not an option any more. My dream would be fixing old gaming systems or something in the repair technician avenue.

So previous to me being made a disability pensioner I was a watchmaker's assistant and have love working with my hands and diagnosing problems and fixing them properly. So watchmakers over here aren't that well trained and just movement exchange a watch's movement rather then repairing it. So I have plenty of time on my hands and want to do this OLD school.

I am looking at getting some basic tools, I already have a bunch of tweezers and pliers etc from my watchmaking days, so I was going to get a multimeter (fluke) and a soldering iron (digital, with variable temperature adjustments) I am guessing this is a good place to start.

Please don't flame me or diss me, Like I said I am new here and I am wanting to know what to buy from the ground up and what sites/books to read through.

Kind Regards
Scott

absf

Joined Dec 29, 2010
Well, I think that is a good place to start. I also have one of those components training kits, it was from R.S. (Made in Taiwan). It also have a small breadboard and includes a booklet with around a hundred lessons.