Newbie to C. Compiler question

Discussion in 'Programmer's Corner' started by ke5nnt, Jan 10, 2011.

1. ke5nnt

Thread Starter Active Member

Mar 1, 2009
    I am very new to C programming and I'm working on running through a very simple program to get the general idea. I'm using MPLAB IDE with Hi-Tech C compiler for 12/14/16MCUs.

The book I'm using specifies 2 file types that I can't seem to find, which I'm supposed to add to the project window. The first is a .h file, which is a header file. I have all the .inc files, but I don't seem to have any .h files. Are they the same thing? Instead of using #include <16fxxx.h> can I use #include <16fxxx.inc>?

The second file type is some kind of "linker script" which is a .gld file. I don't have any .gld files either, and in fact, in the project window, I don't even have a folder to add a linker file to. It only has: Source files, Header files, Object files, library files, and other files.

Can someone shed some light on these? Thanks!

2. thatoneguy

AAC Fanatic!

Feb 19, 2009
    Those files are in the compiler's link path, or should be.

When you include using "arrows", such as #include <16F627.h>, that tells the compiler to search in it's Own directories for the header file. If you include using quotes, such as #include "16f627.h", that tells the compiler to look in your PROJECT Directory for the header file. Compilers come with a different header file for every supported uC, even different header files for 16F627.h and 16F627A.h, so be sure to grab the right one. Some compilers will automatically change the header to the correct target when you simply #include <system.h>. At compile time, system.h includes the correct header for your target uC.

The linker scripts should be generated by the project wizard.