Newbie Question about Current Flow Direction and Resistor Placement

sso311

Joined Jul 16, 2015
Hello, this is my first post here. I just started learning the basics of electronics and circuitry a few weeks ago, which is one of the reasons I joined this site. I have already read through a reasonable portion of text covering basic concepts in electricity and circuits but there is one thing that continuously confuses me due to some apparent inconsistency. As the subject says, I am confused about current flow direction and, by consequence, the proper location of resistors in a basic circuit.

Case in point - scrolling down to the middle of this sparkfun tutorial "What is a Circuit" they show a diagram (in the subsection entitled "The Simplest Circuit" with a circuit composed of a battery, resistor and one LED:

https://learn.sparkfun.com/tutorials/what-is-a-circuit

The diagram also indicates the direction of the current flow with a clockwise circular arrow from the positive to the negative battery terminal. This in itself is a little confusing to me because I learned from previous tutorials and other sources and that "charge" is actually moving in the opposite direction, from negative to positive, due to the flow of electrons. I understand that current can actually flow in both directions and that positive to negative direction was established as a standard for consistent polarity starting with Ben Franklin. What confuses me is that many of the same sources also stated that electrons, and thus "negative" particles, are the only things that move in copper wires. Logically, this implies to me that there should be serious practical considerations for positioning components on in a circuit if the actual movement is occurring from negative to positive. I understand just from reading that this is not actually the case, but my mind cannot detach itself from this simple logic.