Newbie on the block

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by theripley, Apr 22, 2013.

1. theripley

Thread Starter New Member

Apr 22, 2013
    Hi. Good day.

I am a newbie on this forum. My experience is more on system integration using PLC, not PIC. I got interested in PIC as I wanted to put up/ make a new business opportunity for our company, I mean, for the company that I am working with. This project is a data logger, measuring & data saving RH & temperature.

With this, I would like to seek advice as to what should my first steps be in acquiring necessary skills? What references should I read? What materials should I buy?

Please help me:)

2. Meixner

Sep 26, 2011
    What skolls do you already have.

3. panic mode

Oct 10, 2011
    introduction was ok so welcome to the forum

i would start with writing down specs like
    - size of each sample (8bit, 16 bit, 32bit)
    - number of samples to be stored
    - sampling period
    - compute memory requirements
    - is it enough to just collect samples or there need to be timestamp (at least recorded at begin, along with sampling period)
    - how to retrieve the data (network, direct connection, memory card with file system)
    - how to bring the sample value into microcontroller
    - how to control it (some PC app as GUI or local interface with LCD and keypad)
    - how to power it and what is expected battery life
    - is there particular external trigger or is it manual one
    etc.

using RTC (real time clock) and SD card with FAT filesystem seem to work nicely.

one can quickly swap card and device can continue operation while you get the motherload of data

4. takao21203

Distinguished Member

Apr 28, 2012
    PIC24F seems to be good these days for a starter.

There are ready-made developement boards available.

It is also possible to start with blank chips.

data logger, measuring & data saving RH & temperature.

Best for this is a small color TFT, or monochrome GLCD.