Newbie needing help lighting 5000 LEDs

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by pauldotharrington, May 8, 2010.

1. pauldotharrington

Thread Starter New Member

May 8, 2010
    Hi there,
    I am starting a project and i need a bit of help with the planning.
    I have worked with LEDs but never at this scale. (I have worked with maybe 50max). To be fair im a complete newbie to this.

My plan is to light 5000 white LEDs.

I would ideally like to run this off as little plugs a possible, without blowing the power in the house. I was thinking of running them in parallel but thats because i found the easiest way and if one goes, the rest will still be working which is very important.

Any help you can give me on how to get this project on the way would be very much appreciated.

Thanks in advance

Paul

2. SgtWookie

Expert

Jul 17, 2007
    What is their typical Vf @ current rating?

Trying to run them all in parallel will be kind of messy, and you'll need one current limiting resistor per LED. If you run them in series strings, you only need one resistor per string.

This power supply:
    http://www.mpja.com/email/05-04-10a.asp?r=%%ref%%&s=27
    could supply enough current to light 1,950 LEDs that were rated for 3.6Vf @ 20mA, in 325 strings of 6 LEDs and one 120 Ohm resistor per string.

You could get three of those supplies, and just run 278 strings of six LEDs per supply; that would be better as the supplies would not be operating at 100% of their rating; just about 86%.

3. Bychon

Mar 12, 2010
    Start by revealing which country you live in so we can know where you'll get parts.
    Next, decide on a LED and find out how much voltage it needs.
    Decide how much current you will give it.
    Reveal what voltage is available in your house.

As long as we don't know the voltage, the LED's, the current, or where you are, we have nothing to work with except that you will need at least 10,000 connections.

4. retched

AAC Fanatic!

Dec 5, 2009