Newbie, need to build a circuit for my car, please help.

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by maks-g60, Jul 8, 2010.

1. maks-g60

Thread Starter New Member

Jul 8, 2010
    Hi and thanks for taking the time to view my post.

basically i want to make a circuit to power my electric mirrors on my car when i select reverse gear. i need the motors to go down so i can view the kerb/wheels as im reverse parking. but also need them to return to normal when i de-select reverse. ie 4 sesc down on trigger 4seconds back up when trigger is released. hope this makes sense.

im new to all of this so please bear with me.

purchased and assembled one of these now im not sure its correct for my application

any help or pointers would be much apprecitaed.

2. debjit625

Apr 17, 2010
    I have no idea about your car and how the mirror is assembled ,but for the stuff that a motor will control the angular position of your mirror you could use a "Servo motor"
    .If you dont know about servo motor then google about it you will get a lots of info.

Good Luck
  3. maks-g60

Jul 8, 2010
    just to be clear my mirrors are already have motors, i just want to tap into the up and down functions with a timer.
  4. SgtWookie

Jul 17, 2007
    Hello Mak,

I don't have a clue how your mirror motors are powered, as you have not mentioned what manufacturer/make and model of auto you have.

The usual arrangement for US made vehicles is a pair of geared-down DC motors to control the X/Y axis of the mirrors that can run in forward or reverse. No feedback is given as to the actual position of the mirror; but there are limits so that the motors won't get burned out by being operated in a stall condition.

Some vehicles have options that remember preferences for different drivers. These can automatically set mirrors, power seats, steering wheel tilt/extension, lumbar support/etc. to the drivers' pre-set preferences simply by pushing a button or using a specifically coded ignition key.