Newbie need help with LED semiconductor strobe circuit

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by customsportbike, Feb 9, 2010.

1. customsportbike

Thread Starter New Member

Feb 3, 2010
    Hi everybody. I'm pretty new at electronics. I am an apprentice electrician so I understand most of whats been said here.

I have been doing research on a strobe circuit that could flash one group of leds 3 or 4 times then flash a second group the same amount of time. I have attempted to use the 555 timer with a 4017 decade counter. It will work, but I found this other circuit that does the same thing but without the chips.

I have been trying to re-produce this circuit but can't seem to do it. I think it has a semiconductor installed. I have attached some pictures of the circuit I'm trying to re produce. On the back side of the circuit board there was a black epoxy blob that I removed to figure out whats happening.

Inside the blob there is a tiny square something that does conduct but can't get an ohm reading through it.

It seems to be a really simple circuit except for the black blob part. Any ideas?
    Lights flash simultaneously or Lights flash one after the other

I put the circuit operating on youtube:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MiFlF2FgzOA

This circuit uses:
    (2) S8550 transistors,
    100uF cap,
    (2) diodes,
    I think one zener diode,
    electrolytic cap it say 104 on it,
    (2) 1.6k resistors connected to transistors,
    560 ohm res. located next to cap,
    and a 5.6k resistor next to the 2 diodes.

Last edited: Feb 9, 2010
  2. blueroomelectronics

AAC Fanatic!

Jul 22, 2007
    That epoxy blob was a COB (Chip on Board)
    Removing it killed it. It could have contained almost anything and it's usually a custom IC.

3. SgtWookie

Expert

Jul 17, 2007
    Yeah, prying the epoxy blob off wasn't a great idea.