Newbie LED problem

1out1der

Joined Sep 15, 2013
Hello all about circuits, I would be very grateful if someone from this fine forum could help me with a problem I have.

I wish to construct a circuit that will switch a 1w LED on for 2 microseconds and then off for 198 microseconds.

This is an example of the kind of LED I would like to use:

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/10pcs-Red...al_Components_Supplies_ET&hash=item2a2ea96307

Being a total novice I got as far as researching MOSFETs and programmable resistors before realising this is over my head.

The questions I have are firstly which componants to buy and secondly how to set the circuit to the required timing. I have a friend who can solder that will help me with the practical stuff, but I will need to provide the circuit diagram for us to work from.

Any help from the projects forum will be much appreciated.

Joined Nov 30, 2010
I think you need to back up and define the problem. Do you want one (1) event where the LED is on for 2 microseconds, then off for 198 microseconds and then off for until you tell it to start again? Do you want this to keep repeating? And, why do you need something this fast? Humans can't see changes less than several milliseconds long. Is this for a camera?

1out1der

Joined Sep 15, 2013
Thank you for the prompt responses.

#12 I would like the LED to cycle continuously 2 microseconds on and 198 off. I know it's a pretty unusual request; I intend to perform experiment in plant growth (hence 660nm LED)- one that is very likely to fail- but I feel it's worth a try.

Dave- some sort of micro controller would be just the thing, what would you recommend?

Joined Nov 30, 2010
A 555 timer is hard against the wall at 2 microseconds, so this is going to have to go high-tech. The microprocessor guys will have to take this one.

mcgyvr

Joined Oct 15, 2009
What do you "think" is going to happen to this plant?
You might has well just leave it in a dark closet.. same experiment.

1out1der