Newbie here... working on Grandma's mobility scooter

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by ratio411, Feb 13, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ratio411

Thread Starter New Member

Feb 13, 2011
    Hi, I found this forum googling for help on a Pride Rally mobility scooter.

Looks like an interesting place!
    I might be in over my head though.
    I am a gear-head that only dabbles in electronics out of necessity.

Anyway, Grandma's scooter goes forward and reverse normally sometimes, however, sometimes lately it also seems to hold back, hesitate, or seem sluggish for the speed setting.

After reading here, it looks like I need to check the "throttle pot" (5k ohms) and check the brushes in the motor. ???

Seems pretty straight forward. I have a multi-meter and am familiar with the basic uses. I have also changed brushes with one screw, one spring, and brush... Pretty straight forward stuff, even if I didn't know exact theory and operation of the parts.

Any thoughts, ideas, or tips to make my life easier in this endevor?

Thanks much!
    I look forward to asking other questions on my mind.
    Dave

2. someonesdad

Jul 7, 2009
    Welcome to the club -- a lot of us learned to fix things by trial, error, reading, and asking other people.

If you plan to work on the scooter, you'd be best off if you can get a schematic and/or service manual for it. From the little I've read, the scooter companies are not very friendly to do-it-yourselfers. Otherwise, you have to figure out things by looking at what you seen and figuring out how it works -- a much harder proposition.

I strongly recommend you study the basic stuff in the AAC tutorials -- you'll learn a lot and it will be useful the rest of your life.

3. hgmjr

Jan 28, 2005
    If you can get your hands on a service manual, repairs should be a lot easier to fix. You will also be identify parts and obtain replacement parts.

hgmjr

4. ratio411

Feb 13, 2011