Newbie here. Need some help

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by dezi, Aug 3, 2012.

1. dezi

Thread Starter New Member

Aug 2, 2012
    Hey everyone.. I am very new to electronics and assembly etc.. I have someone that is going to help me out but I need to find a transformer for a project I want to build... Here is what I need

120V AC in

12 & 24 volt both AC and DC out. Around 3 amp would be nice..

Can you guys help a newbie out? What do I need and where can I find it in Canada.

Thanks for the help. I am trying to learn and I plan to do a lot of looking around here.

Thanks!

Dezi

2. MrChips

Oct 2, 2009
    Usually it helps to give us the big picture. What are you working on? This sounds rather complex. If it is an automotive project, then don't bother to tell us.

12 & 24V AC and DC mean four supplies:

12VAC
    12VDC
    24VAC
    24VDC

Can you be more specific? Why do you need AC?

A transformer outputs AC. You will need a DC power supply circuit (rectifiers, reservoir capacitor and voltage regulator) to provide DC output.

3. t06afre

AAC Fanatic!

May 11, 2009
    I agree with Mr Chips. It would help if you told us more about what you are planing to do. Not much to work on here. The more details the better

4. SteveHow

Jul 2, 2012
    Hello Mr Chips,

if you don't mind me jumping this for a quick question. I see you have mentioned "Reservoir Capacitors". Are these also considered Smoothing Capacitors and if so, is it true they are performing 2 functions, i.e Current reserve when the load varies and also smoothing out AC Ripple? (I ask because I have never heard of anyone calling them Reservoir Capacitors before. Don't get me wrong I am not questioning just curious)

Thanks

5. MrChips

Oct 2, 2009
    Yeah, I don't usually call them "reservoir capacitors". I originally wrote "storage" and then changed the wording. Possible words are:

filter
    smoothing
    storage
    reservoir