Newbie - Help with Motors.

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by potman100, Aug 5, 2016.

1. potman100

Thread Starter New Member

Aug 5, 2016
    Hi

Ok, I am a total newbie to electronics, but have been working in IT for 20 plus years and have been a keen programmer
    for most of that time.

What I'm trying to Do !

In my spare time, i sell used media Cds / Dvds online, I get lots that are scratched and need resurfacing, I bought a machine
    to do it, but it was quite expensive, and now I find I really need another but don't really want to spend another £1500 on one.

So, the machine I bought it seems to me is quite basic, it has a motor that a round cd / dvd sized table is attached to and it
    spins, on the lid there are 2 round foam pads that when the lid is closed sit on top of the cd / dvd which has been placed label
    down on the table, it applies some polish to the cd / dvd and the table and the upper pads spin / rotate and polish the disc.

So, I want to try and make a similar system, I noticed you could get just a driver board to control a DC motor, so I purchased a
    cheap one from ebay and a 12v 5 amp PSU to run it, and with the help of Youtube I used an old hard drive motor and have it
    all working without blowing myself up. What I have come to realise is that the Hard Drive motor is under powered for the polishing
    process, and stalls the motor easily.

So, I have been looking in to buying a better motor and this is were I'm getting confused,

I think I need to get a motor that has high torque ?

As I am new to this my soldering skills are very poor, so I wanted to use a Arduino, with a driver shield to do the control.

What would be best, a 12v or 24v motor ?

There seems to be quite a lot of driver shields on Ebay, any recommendations ?

I hope this is clear for you, just give me a shout if not and I can clarify any part that is unclear.

Thanks for any help or ideas you are able to provide.

Regards

Darren