Newbie component question - level measurer

ClaireS

Joined Jul 10, 2013
Hi there
I am COMPLETELY new at this
I want to know if there is a component that you can use to compare the level/height of 2 points. The component needs to be accurate within mm but does not need to give actual GPS height...
Also it should be cheap :)

Many thanks

Joined Nov 30, 2010
You almost fill the hose with water and place the two ends at the two different locations. You might have to pound posts into the ground to hold the ends up.
Measure from the water level to the ground at both ends and calculate the difference.

I did this on my house and found that the north west corner was 1 3/4 inches higher than the south east corner. Great way to figure out how to apply siding without coming up with a gap at one corner of the building.

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006
I don't see how that produces an unambiguous result. Doesn't it require the ground to be at the same height at both ends? What am I missing?

Joined Nov 30, 2010
The description I wrote in post #4 is a method to find the difference in height of the ground from one point to another. On my house, I measured from the water level to the first grout line between the concrete blocks to find the difference in height of the concrete slab.

For clarification, I'm using transparent tubing and calling it, "hose". The height of the water in the hose will be the same at both ends. It doesn't matter how many loops or curves there are, as long as no part in the middle of the hose is above the water level at the ends. At the ends, you want a few inches of air in the hose above the water level. The distance from the meniscus to the ground might be 20 inches at one location and 22 inches at the other location. You have just found that the difference in the altitude of the ground is 2 inches, and at which location the ground is higher by 2 inches.

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
The height of the water in the hose will be the same at both ends.